The Eldercare Foundation enhances the care, comfort, dignity and independence of elderly persons living in our Vancouver Island community.

We are not government funded. We are an independently registered charitable organization. We rely on donations from individuals, businesses, service clubs, granting organizations and special events.

The Foundation directly support over 700 residents who call Aberdeen, Mt. Tolmie, Glengarry, Priory, Heritage Woods and Oak Bay Lodge extended care facilities ‘home’ and generally supports the care of elderly persons living on Vancouver Island. The Foundation also supports community programs for seniors including the West Shore and Oak Bay Lodge Adult Day Programs, the Mobile Adult Day Program, the Community Bathing Program, the Yakimovich Wellness Centre and the Piercy Respite Hotel.

Our Foundation believes in the importance of supporting our aging population. We are working towards reaching further into the community to support senior serving groups and organizations that promote and inspire positive aging and to raise awareness about the many resources, activities and educational opportunities available to seniors and their family caregivers that help improve quality of life.

Executive Director & Board of Directors

  • Casey Ralph, CPA, CA

    Casey Ralph, CPA, CA

    Board Director

    Casey Ralph is a Senior Tax Analyst and Chartered Accountant. Elected to the Board of Directors in October 2014, Casey is a member of the Foundation’s Finance Committee.

  • D.J. (Dave) Sinclair, CD

    D.J. (Dave) Sinclair, CD

    Board Secretary

    Dave Sinclair is Vice-President of Verity Health Resources Inc. He is currently volunteer President of the BC Senior Living Association and Past President of Legion Manor. He is a member of the Royal Canadian Legion where he has held numerous positions both nationally and within BC/Yukon Command. Dave also served on the Duke of Edinburgh Board, was named Victoria’s Citizen of the Year in 2007 and received a Queen’s Diamond Jubilee medal in 2012. Dave is our Board Secretary and also serves on our Embrace Aging Committee.

  • Dale S. J. Armstrong

    Dale S. J. Armstrong

    Board Vice-President

    Dale S. J. Armstrong is a Financial Advisor with Scotia Private Client Group. He is an active community volunteer and currently serves on the Art Gallery of Greater Victoria Foundation Board. Dale is the Foundation’s Vice-President and Chair of our Embrace Aging Committee.

  • Dr. Holly Tuokko, PhD, RPsych

    Dr. Holly Tuokko, PhD, RPsych

    Board Director

    Dr. Holly Tuokko, former Director of the Centre on Aging and a professor in the Department of Psychology at the University of Victoria, is a clinical neuropsychologist by training. Dr. Tuokko is a co-investigator on a CIHR Team on Driving in Older Persons and leader for a subproject examining the influence of psychosocial factors on older driver decision-making and behavior. She is the Psychology theme leader for the Canadian Longitudinal Study on Aging, one of the largest national studies of its kind. Holly is a member of our VIPAC Committee.

  • Dr. Thomas Bailey

    Dr. Thomas Bailey

    Board Director

    Dr. Tom Bailey has been active in family practice medicine in Victoria since 1978. He is on the active staff of Victoria General Hospital and is Medical Director of Residential Services for Island Health. Tom is volunteer Chair of the Foundation’s Awards Committee.

  • Dr.Mary Ellen Purkis, RN,PhD

    Dr.Mary Ellen Purkis, RN,PhD

    Board President

    Dr. Mary Ellen Purkis is the Dean of Human and Social Development at the University of Victoria. She is a Leadership Victoria award recipient and a member of the Priory Hospital’s Resident Family Council.

  • Eduard Mann, CA

    Eduard Mann, CA

    Board Treasurer

    Ed Mann is a Chartered Accountant with Green Horwood & Co LLP. He received his B.Sc. in chemistry from Simon Fraser University in 1978 and a M.B.A. from the University of British Columbia in 1982. He became a Chartered Accountant in 1990, completed the 3 year In-Depth Income Tax Program with the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants in 2002 and became a CPA in 2008.

  • Grace Wong Sneddon

    Grace Wong Sneddon

    Board Director

    Grace Wong Sneddon is Director, Academic Leadership Initiatives and Adviser to the Provost on Equity and Diversity at University of Victoria. Grace is a member of our Embrace Aging Committee.

  • John R. Thomas

    John R. Thomas

    Board Director

    John Thomas is an Investment Advisor with Raymond James Ltd. in Victoria. With more than 23 years of experience in the financial industry, he advises clients on a wide range of investment products and strategies. John is an active community volunteer and Rotarian. He is a past president of the South Cowichan Rotary. John is a member of the Foundation’s Finance Committee.

  • Judy Loukras

    Judy Loukras

    Board Director

    Judy Loukras began her career as an Occupational Therapist. After her experience convinced her that major changes were needed in the design of wheel chair seating systems, Judy co-founded Special Health Systems, and developed innovative changes in seating system design. As Executive Director of Geriatric Health, she was a key participant in developing the “Aging at Home Strategy”, a model of care for the frail elderly for Ministry of Health Ontario. Judy is a member of our Embrace Aging Committee.

  • Linda Jones

    Linda Jones

    Board Director

    Linda Jones has been a Foundation Member since 1998 and has served as both Board President and Secretary as well as serving on many committees over the years. Linda currently sits on our Awards Committee.

  • Linda-Mae Ross

    Linda-Mae Ross

    Board Secretary

    Linda-Mae Ross is a Social Worker who currently holds the position of Resident Care Manager at the Priory Hospital site on Goldstream Avenue, Victoria, BC.
    Linda-Mae is an active community volunteer and currently serves on the board of the Canadian College of Performing Arts.

  • Lori McLeod

    Lori McLeod

    Executive Director

    Lori McLeod is the Foundation’s Executive Director, a position she has held since 2000. Previously, Lori spent 10 years at CHEK TV where she held the position of Director of Community Relations and Office Manager. Lori is an active volunteer on numerous not-for-profit boards and community-based committees. She is also a strong advocate for partnerships and collaboration enhancing care for the elderly on Vancouver Island.

  • Nancy Davy, CGA

    Nancy Davy, CGA

    Board Director

    Nancy Davy is a Certified General Accountant with Grant Thornton LLP in Victoria. In 2007 Nancy was appointed as Grant Thornton’s Senior Manager in the Owner Business Group. She is an active volunteer and has served on the Foundation’s Executive in the positions of President, Vice-President and Treasurer.

  • R.C. (Tino) Di Bella

    R.C. (Tino) Di Bella

    Board Director

    Tino Di Bella is a University of Victoria graduate in Honours History (1976) and Law (1979). He was called to the BC Bar in 1980 and practices law in Victoria with Jawl & Bundon. Tino serves on our Endowment and Planned Giving Committee.